What you need to stop doing to be happier.

emotional roller coaster


Earlier in the year when I sadly lost my Dad and took the long haul trip back to the UK I found myself on the most hideous emotional roller coaster.

The ugly emotions of guilt, blame and fear ran through my body like red hot lava.

The trip was painful and I was not my best self, I was not prepared for this ride.

My dark emotions were running wild like a childish tantrum, I was in attack and defense.

I am grateful for this dramatic episode, but I won’t be watching it again, I have seen enough.
I now love the sense of calm and freedom, I have learned what not to do and I work on this daily, catching myself if I drift back into the darkness.

Here are a few things I no longer do if I find myself drawn to the ride.

1 – I no longer allow myself to get too tired, so my mind and body is stronger and calmer.
2 – I do not allow other peoples drama to draw me in, I stop rescuing everyone.
3 – I don’t seek approval from others who simply aren’t on the same planet.
4 – I stop holding on to the past pain stories.
5 – I no longer say yes to every request.
6 – I no longer under charge for my professional services.
7 – I no longer drink alcohol.
8 – I do not put of dancing/exercise.
9 – I eat far less crap.
10 – I do not depend on anyone for my own health or happiness.
11 – I do not under breathe, or allow my shoulders to be pulled up to my ears.
12 – I do not expect other people to be on the same planet.
13 – I do not block my success and happiness by limited or lack thoughts.
14 – I stop ignoring my body’s signals.
15 – I no longer fear, fear.
16 – I don’t pretend to be perfect, I never did really, I work on progress.
17 – I don’t over react, I pause and think.
18 – I stop people pleasing, this is such a great feeling.
19 – I am ok with other people not understanding me or even liking me. ( That was hard, but worth it)
20 – I stopped holding onto to unhappy items, clothes, old gifts, and I passed them on.
21 – I do not go on negative roller coasters 🙂
22 – I stopped over thinking about worrying things.
23 – I no longer hang out with people who only ask to hang out when they want something.
24 – I let go of fantasy versions of other people I had created.
25 – I no longer allow my negative emotions to fuel my thoughts and actions, I empty them out and I deal with them with love.
26 – I no longer over think a problem I think of a solution.
27 – I work on stopping myself blocking my own happiness in fear of judgment or not deserving.
28 – I let go of needing to be a certain weight, who cares??
29 – I no longer shove emotions down with food or drink, I bring them out, take them for a walk and work on what needs to be done.
30 – I let go of worrying about change, I build resilience and faith in myself.

I could give you a hundred more, but I no longer feel the need 🙂

If you want to make changes, look at what you need to stop doing, before you start doing.
Stop first, close some doors and pause.

One thought on “What you need to stop doing to be happier.

  1. Pingback: What you need to stop doing to be happier. | caronandlife

Leave a Reply

